Expecting a child can make you excited, nervous and joyful all at once. However, many people in California who are pregnant may be concerned about their employment rights. However, if your employer has five or more workers, California law protects the rights of pregnant workers.
What rights do pregnant workers have in California?
Under California law, pregnant workers have the right to reasonable accommodations and the right to take leave from work when necessary. Employers are not permitted to fire a worker because they are pregnant, refuse to hire a worker because they are pregnant, harass pregnant workers, or in any other way discriminate against workers based on pregnancy, child birth or a related condition.
What rights do I have to take leave after my child’s birth?
California law provides the right to take leave after your child’s birth, if you have been working for your employer for at least 12 months, and at least 1,250 hours within the previous 12 month, and your employer has a minimum of 20 workers. If these conditions are met, both men and women can take up to 12 weeks of leave from work within one year of their child’s birth, adoption or foster care placement to bond with the child.
What if I’m discriminated against due to pregnancy?
If you believe your employer has discriminated against you based on pregnancy, it is important to understand your options. You may be able to file a complaint with the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing within one year of the date of violation of the law by your employer. In addition, it may be possible to pursue legal action. Employment law attorneys understand these concerns and may be able to provide legal advice, which this post does not contain.